Meaning of the Flags of Oceania

Updated May 6, 2018 / João Leitão /
Meaning of the Flags of Oceania

Meaning of the Flags of Oceania

Flags of Oceania

The flags represent the national identity of each country. Each color has a meaning in the history of nations. Oceanian flags vary on color and meaning. On this page, I list all flags of Oceania & Pacific and their colors.

Flag of AustraliaFlag of Federated States of Micronesia

Flag of Australia

3 colors: red, blue, white.
Meaning of the flag of Australia: The flag of Australia has a blue background with the British Union Jack in the upper left corner, representing that the British were the first colonizers coming from Europe. The seven-point star (Commonwealth Star) in white and other five stars (four big and one small) are known as the Southern Cross Constellation. The seven pointed Star of Federation represents each of Australia’s six states and one additional point represents Australia’s territories. The Southern Cross is a constellation of stars that can be seen from all of Australia’s states and territories.

Flag of Federated States of Micronesia

2 colors: blue, white.
Meaning of the flag of Federated States of Micronesia: The color blue in the background stands for the Pacific ocean where the islands are located. The four white stars in the Micronesia flag represent four other islands which make up the Federation together: Chuuk, Pohnpei, Kosrae and Yap.

Flag of FijiFlag of Kiribati

Flag of Fiji

4 colors: azure, dark blue, red, white.
Meaning of the flag of Fiji: Azure stands for the strong relationship of Fiji with the Pacific Ocean that surrounds it. The British Union Jack symbolizes the country’s history as a colony of the United Kingdom. The coat of arms shows the shield of Fiji steadied by two native Fijians who hold weapons, a sail boat above the shield and a banner below which reads “Rerevaka na Kalou ka doka na Tui”, meaning “Fear God and honor the queen”. Across the red band there is a lion holding a cocoa pod. A cross divides the shield into four sections ornamented with features of Fiji: sugar cane; coconut palm; bananas; a dove of peace holding an olive branch in its beak.

Flag of Kiribati

4 colors: red, blue, white, yellow.
Meaning of the flag of Kiribati: The frigate bird flying over the rising sun represents the equator and the blue and white wavy stripes represent the surrounding Pacific Ocean. The bird comes from the country’s coat of arms and represents strength, authority, freedom and power at sea. The white stripes represent the three island groups: Gilbert, Line and Phoenix; the 17 rays of the sun represent the 16 Gilbert Islands and Banaba (once Ocean Island).

Flag of Marshall IslandsFlag of Nauru

Flag of Marshall Islands

3 colors: blue, orange, white.
Meaning of the flag of Marshall Islands: The Marshall Islands’ flag represents the country’s geographical position. The stripes indicate that the islands are just north of the equator; the blue area places them in the central north-west Pacific Ocean; the off center star to the left of the flag places the country slightly west of the international dateline. In more detail, blue symbolizes the Pacific Ocean; orange is a traditional color of the Marshall Islands which represents bravery and wealth; white stands for peace and brightness. The stripes are for the two main chains of the Marshall Islands, the Ralik chain (orange) and the Ratak chain (white). The expanding width of the stripes represents growth and vitality of the country. The star symbolizes each of the 24 municipalities of the Marshall Islands. The four longer points of the star are for the capital city of Majuro, the administrative districts of Kwajalein, Wotji and Jaluit. These longer points form a cross to symbolize the Christian faith of the Marshall Islands.

Flag of Nauru

3 colors: blue, yellow, white.
Meaning of the flag of Nauru: Blue symbolizes the vast Pacific Ocean and the infinite sky; the twelve-pointed white star is for the twelve unique tribes of the country; the white star symbolizes the location of the nation in association with the Equator. The division into two equal halves recalls the history of the original populace of the nation who originated from two boulders.

Flag of New ZealandFlag of Palau

Flag of New Zealand

3 colors: red, blue, white.
Meaning of the flag of New Zealand: Blue represents the blue sea and sky. The Union Jack symbolizes New Zealand’s history as a British colony. The four red stars make up the Southern Cross, a constellation of stars, to signify New Zealand’s location in the South Pacific Ocean.

Flag of Palau

2 colors: blue, yellow.
Meaning of the flag of Palau: The light blue stands for the sovereignty and freedom achieved by Palau. Blue can also stand for the Pacific Ocean.The yellow full moon represents peace and the time for activities because the people of Palau consider the full moon to be sacred and ideal for plantation and harvesting.

Flag of Papua New GuineaFlag of Samoa

Flag of Papua New Guinea

4 colors: red, black, white, yellow.
Meaning of the flag of Papua New Guinea: Black, red and yellow are traditional colors found in Papua New Guinean art and clothing. The yellow stylized bird of paradise represents freedom and the country’s birth as an independent nation. The five stars stand for the constellation the Southern Cross, representing the stars Alpha, Beta, Gamma, Delta and Epsilon (this last one is smaller because it doesn’t shine as brightly as the other stars). The Southern Cross symbolizes the geographical position of Papua New Guinea in the world and its connection to Australia, which also incorporates the Southern Cross on its flag.

Flag of Samoa

3 colors: red, blue, white.
Meaning of the flag of Samoa: Red stands for courage; blue means freedom; white is for purity. The five stars are associated with the constellation of the Southern Cross identifying Samoa’s geographical position in the world map and its connection with New Zealand, which also has the Southern Cross on its national flag.

Flag of Solomon IslandsFlag of Tonga

Flag of Solomon Islands

4 colors: green, blue, white, yellow.
Meaning of the flag of Solomon Islands: Blue is for the water of the Pacific Ocean; the yellow strip symbolizes sunlight; green represents the fruitfulness of the country. The five stars refer to the five governmental territories of Solomon Island.

Flag of Tonga

2 colors: red, white.
Meaning of the flag of Tonga: The Red Cross represents the arrival of Christianity to Tonga islands. The color red in the largest portion also has religious connotations, the blood of Christ and his sacrifice. The white quarter stands for purity.

Flag of TuvaluFlag of Vanuatu

Flag of Tuvalu

5 colors: azure, dark blue, red, yellow, white.
Meaning of the flag of Tuvalu: The Tuvalu Flag has the Union Jack, the flag of the UK to represent the link maintained to date after a past dependency. The nine islands of the country are present in the nine stars.

Flag of Vanuatu

4 colors: red, green, black, yellow.
Meaning of the flag of Vanuatu: Black is for the Melanesian population; red stands for bloodshed; green represents the lush green vegetation and crop growing lands. The emblem is a conventional symbol of prosperity in Vanuatu culture. The thin yellow line inside the black ‘Y’ symbolizes sunshine and Christianity, the most practiced religion of Vanuatu.

Travel blog featured on:
Nomad Revelations on the Media

Follow Nomad Revelations on Instagram @JOAOLEITAOVIAGENS