Adventure Group Tours

UNESCO Sites in New Zealand

UNESCO Sites in New Zealand
New Zealand UNESCO Sites

New Zealand UNESCO has registered 3 sites on the World Heritage list and 8 on the tentative list.

Some places are so interesting that it’s relevant to keep them for future generations. This is why UNESCO has built a list of crucial classified properties in which superb places stand out for their aesthetic, natural, artistic, or cultural significance.

More than a thousand places are registered as Unesco’s World Heritage worldwide. Due to my interest in visiting World Heritage sites, I compiled the UNESCO list in New Zealand and the corresponding map.

New Zealand UNESCO list

  1. New Zealand Sub-Antarctic Islands
  2. Te Wahipounamu – South West New Zealand
  3. Tongariro National Park

New Zealand UNESCO Map

Click on the blue pins to view more relevant information about each World Heritage site in New Zealand.


  1. New Zealand Sub-Antarctic Islands: This Site includes five remote island groups south of New Zealand, among the world’s most diverse and least disturbed oceanic ecosystems. The islands are home to many unique plant and animal species, many of which are found nowhere else on Earth.
  2. Te Wahipounamu – South West New Zealand: This site encompasses four national parks in the southwestern corner of New Zealand’s South Island. It is a landscape of stunning natural beauty, including towering mountains, deep fiords, and ancient glaciers. The site is also home to a rich diversity of plant and animal life, including many endemic species.
  3. Tongariro National Park: This is New Zealand’s oldest national park and is located in the central North Island. It is home to three active volcanoes, including Mt. Ruapehu, the largest active volcano in the country. The park is renowned for its striking natural landscapes, including hot springs, steaming vents, and brightly colored crater lakes. It is also a sacred site for the local Maori, who consider the mountains ancestors and guardians of the land.

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in New Zealand have protected places for their cultural and natural importance.

Sites on the Tentative List

  1. Auckland Volcanic Fields
  2. Waters and seabed of Fiordland (Te Moana O Atawhenua)
  3. Kahurangi National Park, Farewell Spit, and Canaan Karst system
  4. Kerikeri Basin historic precinct
  5. Kermadec Islands and Marine Reserve
  6. Napier Art Deco historic precinct
  7. Whakarua Moutere (North East Islands)
  8. Waitangi Treaty Grounds historic precinct