Co-operative Republic of Guyana


Country profile:

Location: South America.
Borders: Brazil, Suriname, Venezuela.
Capital: Georgetown.
Area: 214,970 km2.
Population: 735,909.
Currency: Guyanese Dollar GYD.
Independence from UK: year 1966.

Travel articles about Guyana

South America Travel Guide
South America

Inspiring places to visit in South America – Travel guide

South America Travel Guide “South America is an amazing continent to visit. It has a total of 13 countries with a total population of 385 million. The most spoken languages in South America are Portuguese, Spanish, English, Dutch, and French. “ My Top South America 4th century BC Chankillo astronomical observatory, Peru Galapagos Islands, Ecuador […]

Backpacking Travel Guide to Cross Guyana, Suriname and French Guiana
Country guides South America

Backpacking travel guide to cross Guyana, Suriname and French Guiana

The north-eastern region of South America is commonly called as “The Guianas”. The name Guiana means “land of many waters” and comes from local Amerindian languages. There are 3 main Guianas: Guyana (British Guiana) Suriname (Dutch Guiana) French Guiana There are 2 extra Guianas: Brazilian Amapá State (Portuguese Guiana) Venezuelan Guayana Region (Spanish Guiana) Georgetown […]