Adventure Group Tours

UNESCO Sites in Benin

Benin unesco sites
Benin UNESCO sites
unesco world heritage sites

Benin UNESCO has registered 2 sites on the World Heritage list and 6 on the tentative list.

Some places are so interesting that it’s relevant to keep them for future generations. This is why UNESCO has built a list of crucial classified properties in which superb places stand out for their aesthetic, natural, artistic, or cultural significance.

More than a thousand places are registered as Unesco’s World Heritage worldwide. Due to my interest in visiting World Heritage sites, I compiled the UNESCO list in Benin and the corresponding map.

Benin UNESCO list

  1. Royal Palaces of Abomey
  2. W-Arly-Pendjari Complex

Benin UNESCO Map

Click on the blue pins to view more relevant information about each World Heritage site in Benin.


  1. The Royal Palaces of Abomey are a group of earthen structures located in Abomey in Benin, West Africa. The palaces were built in the 17th century and served as the residence of the Kings of Dahomey until the late 19th century. They are recognized as a UNESCO World Heritage Site and considered one of the most significant examples of traditional West African architecture.
  2. The W-Arly-Pendjari Complex is a protected area in West Africa, spanning Burkina Faso, Niger, and Benin. It comprises three national parks: W National Park in Niger, Arly National Park in Burkina Faso, and Pendjari National Park in Benin. The complex is home to diverse wildlife, including elephants, lions, cheetahs, and hippos, and is recognized as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It is a popular ecotourism destination, allowing visitors to observe wildlife in their natural habitat.

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Benin have protected places for their cultural and natural importance.

Sites on the Tentative List

  1. La ville de Porto-Novo : quartiers anciens et Palais Royal
  2. La Réserve W du Niger et l’habitat vernaculaire du nord Bénin
  3. Village souterrain d’Agongointo-Zoungoudo
  4. Basse vallée de l’Ouémé
  5. Koutammakou, le pays des Batammariba (extension)
  6. Sites marquants de la Route de l’Esclave au Bénin