Adventure Group Tours

UNESCO Sites in Egypt

UNESCO Sites In Egypt
UNESCO Sites In Egypt
unesco world heritage sites

Egypt UNESCO commitment has registered 7 sites on the World Heritage list and 33 sites on the tentative list.

Some places are so interesting that it’s relevant to keep them for future generations. This is why UNESCO has built a list of crucial classified properties in which there are superb places that stand out for their aesthetic, natural, artistic or cultural significance.

More than a thousand places are registered as Unesco’s World Heritage around the world. Due to my personal interest in visiting World Heritage sites, I put together the UNESCO list in Egypt and the corresponding map.

Egypt UNESCO list

  1. Abu Mena
  2. Ancient Thebes with its Necropolis
  3. Historic Cairo
  4. Memphis and its Necropolis – the Pyramid Fields from Giza to Dahshur
  5. Nubian Monuments from Abu Simbel to Philae
  6. Saint Catherine Area
  7. Wadi Al-Hitan

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Egypt are protected places for their cultural and natural importance.

Egypt UNESCO Map

Click on the blue pins to view more relevant information about each World Heritage site in Egypt.

Sites on the Tentative List

  1. Siwa archaeological area
  2. Temple of Serabit Khadem
  3. North Sinai archaeological Sites Zone
  4. Temple of Hator
  5. Dahshour archaeological area
  6. El Fayoum Sites
  7. El-Gendi Fortress
  8. Rutho Monastery
  9. Wadi Feiran
  10. Pharaon Island
  11. Dahab
  12. Minia
  13. Newibah castle
  14. Ras Mohammed
  15. Gebel Qatrani Area
  16. The Western Desert Oases
  17. Bird Migration Routes
  18. Desert Wadis
  19. Mountain Chains
  20. Great Desert Landscapes
  21. Alexandria
  22. Abydos
  23. Pharaonic temples in Upper Egypt
  24. Necropolises of Middle Egypt
  25. Raoudha nilometre in Cairo
  26. The monasteries of the Arab Desert and Wadi Natrun
  27. Two citadels in Sinai from the Saladin period
  28. The An-Nakhl fortress
  29. Oasis of Fayoum
  30. Historic quarters and monuments of Rosetta/Rachid
  31. Dababiya
  32. Helwan Observatory
  33. Kharga Oasis and the Small Southern Oases