Adventure Group Tours

UNESCO Sites in Kenya

UNESCO Sites in Kenya
UNESCO Sites in Kenya
unesco world heritage sites

Kenya UNESCO commitment has registered 7 sites on the World Heritage list and 17 sites on the tentative list.

Some places are so interesting that it’s relevant to keep them for future generations. This is why UNESCO has built a list of crucial classified properties in which there are superb places that stand out for their aesthetic, natural, artistic or cultural significance.

More than a thousand places are registered as Unesco’s World Heritage around the world. Due to my personal interest in visiting World Heritage sites, I put together the UNESCO list in Kenya and the corresponding map.

Kenya UNESCO list

  1. Fort Jesus, Mombasa
  2. Lamu Old Town
  3. Sacred Mijikenda Kaya Forests
  4. Thimlich Ohinga Archaeological Site
  5. Kenya Lake System in the Great Rift Valley
  6. Lake Turkana National Parks
  7. Mount Kenya National Park

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Kenya are protected places for their cultural and natural importance.

Kenya UNESCO Map

Click on the blue pins to view more relevant information about each World Heritage site in Kenya.

Sites on the Tentative List

  1. Mombasa Old Town
  2. Lake Nakuru National Park
  3. Lake Naivasha
  4. Lake Bogoria National Reserve
  5. The Historic Town of Gedi
  6. The Mfangano-Rusinga Island Complex
  7. The Marakwet Escarpment Furrow Irrigation System
  8. Olorgesailie Prehistoric Site
  9. Aberdare Mountains
  10. Arabuko-Sokoke Forest and Shimba Hills National Reserve
  11. The Kakemega Forest
  12. The Meru Conservation Area
  13. Hell’s Gate National Park
  14. The Maasai Mara
  15. The Kenya Lakes System
  16. The Tana Delta and Forests Complex
  17. Tsavo Parks and Chyulu Hills Complex