Adventure Group Tours

UNESCO Sites in Malta

Malta unesco sites
Malta unesco sites
unesco world heritage sites

Malta UNESCO has registered 3 sites on the World Heritage list and 7 on the tentative list.

Some places are so interesting that it’s relevant to keep them for future generations. This is why UNESCO has built a list of crucial classified properties in which superb places stand out for their aesthetic, natural, artistic, or cultural significance.

More than a thousand places are registered as Unesco’s World Heritage worldwide. Due to my interest in visiting World Heritage sites, I compiled the UNESCO list in Malta and the corresponding map.

Malta UNESCO list

  1. City of Valletta
  2. Ħal Saflieni Hypogeum
  3. Megalithic Temples of Malta

Malta UNESCO Map

Click on the blue pins to view more relevant information about each World Heritage site in Malta.


  1. City of Valletta – a fortified city in Malta known for its Baroque architecture and historical significance.
  2. Ħal Saflieni Hypogeum -an underground prehistoric burial site in Malta with unique acoustics and intricate carvings.
  3. Megalithic Temples of Malta – A collection of prehistoric megalithic temples on the islands of Malta and Gozo, dating back to between 3600 and 700 BC. These temples are some of the oldest free-standing structures in the world.

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Malta have protected places for their cultural and natural importance.

Sites on the Tentative List

  1. Coastal Cliffs
  2. Qawra/Dwejra
  3. Cittadella (Victoria – Gozo)
  4. Knights’ Fortifications around the Harbours of Malta
  5. Mdina (Citta’ Vecchia)
  6. Maltese Catacomb Complexes
  7. Victoria Lines Fortifications