Adventure Group Tours

UNESCO Sites in Morocco

UNESCO Sites in Morocco
UNESCO Sites in Morocco
unesco world heritage sites

Morocco UNESCO commitment has registered 9 sites on the World Heritage list and 13 sites on the tentative list.

Some places are so interesting that it’s relevant to keep them for future generations. This is why UNESCO has built a list of crucial classified properties in which there are superb places that stand out for their aesthetic, natural, artistic or cultural significance.

More than a thousand places are registered as Unesco’s World Heritage around the world. Due to my personal interest in visiting World Heritage sites, I put together the UNESCO list in Morocco and the corresponding map.

Morocco UNESCO list

  1. Archaeological Site of Volubilis
  2. Historic City of Meknes
  3. Ksar of Ait-Ben-Haddou
  4. Medina of Essaouira
  5. Medina of Fez
  6. Medina of Marrakesh
  7. Medina of Tétouan
  8. Portuguese City of Mazagan
  9. Rabat

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Morocco are protected places for their cultural and natural importance.

Morocco UNESCO Map

Click on the blue pins to view more relevant information about each World Heritage site in Morocco.

Sites on the Tentative List

  1. Moulay Idriss Zerhoun
  2. Taza et la Grande Mosquée
  3. Mosquée de Tinmel
  4. Ville de Lixus
  5. El Gour
  6. Grotte de Taforalt
  7. Parc naturel de Talassemtane
  8. Aire du Dragonnier Ajgal
  9. Lagune de Khnifiss
  10. Parc national de Dakhla
  11. Oasis de Figuig
  12. Casablanca
  13. Oasis de Tighmert